Dogs Are Family Too

wpid-black-and-white-lab-puppies-2014-08-6-12-11-2014-08-6-12-11.jpgMy husband is just not an animal person. I guess that is an understatement. He has always despised certain things. When we would visit my Mother’s house he would spend half the time up in our room and was always jumpy around the pets. One time he nearly went through the window when my Mom’s Labrador walked under the table and he wasn’t expecting it. To me pets are family, too. So, when I finally got him to agree that I could adopt a dog I was ecstatic. Of course, I probably went overboard by getting two. The guy sell them convinced me one would just be lonely and cry a lot. He said they would adjust easier if they were two. 

I feel that pets just add an element of warmth to family. My dog was a comfort to me when I was growing up and I was heart broken when she died. My cat was also a close friend after that. Unfortunately, hubby grew up in a country where more often animals are only seen on the streets, not in homes. So, every step is an argument. Training really hasn’t even started, yet. So, he just thinks that the area that the babies occupy will always smell.

I guess with all the stress of dealing with BB I feel that having a dog or in our case dogs will help fill the quiet times in the house. It also gives me something to keep busy with when I am alone. My Son has also wanted a dog for a long time, but we all tried to respect the wishes of my husband. Finally, I just couldn’t take it any more. The dogs came after a disastrous experience with having a cat. I still don’t know where we went wrong. The cat was letterbox trained, but still would pee everywhere and at the end start pooping in odd places, too. At that point I had no choice, but to give in.

L & L, as we’ve dubbed them are adorable. I’m hoping to train them and hopeful see the end of the complaints coming from my husband. He just doesn’t understand that they are babies and it will take time. Patience isn’t his strong point. I am also hoping having the dogs will have a positive affect on BB when she returns home. Hoping for the best, but prepared for the worst. Have a great day! #Dogs #FamilyLife #NewLoves

Leave a Reply

